Every day is a challenge

It has been almost 12 weeks.  Three months.  I can’t even believe it.  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about Kai.  I think initially there was the disbelief that at 8 years old he would be taken from us.  Now there is just the anguish that I will never see him again.  It may be hard for those that don’t have pets to understand how deep a loss like this is.  Imagine that a devoted friend that has been at your side for 8 1/2 years through all the happiness and disappointments is now gone. 

It is hard to forget his final moments.  Maybe some day I will tell you about them.

His birthday was on January 30th.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Hamilton
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 18:39:42

    Oh Susan I started crying reading this post I will be in your shoes soon and my heart is breaking. I don’t know how long Gilda has …..a week…..a month…I just know I have a lot of sadness coming my way and Iwant to stop time so she will always be here with me. You have been though this and know what I am saying…….thanks for your support and please say a little prayer hoping Gilda does not suffer too much in the end.

    Reply

    • Susan
      Feb 05, 2011 @ 22:45:33

      I wish time could be stopped for you. Please try to enjoy the moments you have with Gilda. I know it can be hard to see positive things in light of her diagnosis, but as you know, every moment is precious.

      You and Gilda are in my thoughts and prayers! I am so sad you are going through this.

      Reply

  2. Mark
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 23:54:31

    Do not give up hope on seeing him again. We have a loving and merciful God through whom all things are possible. It may be that you will not see him again for many years, but look to the future. We have an eternity to win where there will be no death, no pain and no illness. Our lives will measure with the life of God.
    This is my hope. This is your hope. It is the hope of all humanity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

